Home > Basic > Too much isn’t always a good thing

Too much isn’t always a good thing

One of the pin’s I attempted was to spring clean my mattress, and it seamed easy enough.  Sprinkle baking soda through a sifter onto the mattress and let sit for a few hours.  I gathered my sifter, baking powder, and stripped the bed.  Here’s how it looked when I finished with it.IMG_0085

I may have gone a bit over the top, but I figured it couldn’t hurt too much.  Well, when I started vacuuming it, my handheld oreck was putting out a plume of baking powder.  The bag had ripped, but after replacing it the new bag filled up very quickly, and again, and again.  Finally I used the actual vacuum and it did the trick.  After putting the fresh sheets (folded and stored inside a pillowcase (p)) I thought I was done.  When we went to bed that night, my husband noticed the powder plume had settled on the shelves that hold all his clothes.  It took a few loads of wash to get that all clean.  I don’t know if the mattress is any cleaner, but it was a good reminder that too much isn’t always better.

Categories: Basic
  1. Kirsten Sessions
    September 9, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Haha! Love this post. How funny. Good try. I bet it smells nice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

