Home > Uncategorized > Anthropologie : Ordinal : Nightstands

Anthropologie : Ordinal : Nightstands

One of the blogs I read is I’m Busy Procrastinating, and she recently inspired me to turn two “blank” nightstands from Ikea into Anthropologie-esk ordinal gorgeousness.  The original dresser from A is here, and it’s almost $1000. 

Here’s what I started out with from Ikea.  The Rast “mini-dresser”.  How convenient it came unfinished!  And it was only $35.  IMG_3402

I used the table saw to cut a inch off the top of each drawer and filled in the holes for the knobs with wood filler.IMG_3423

Then I stained everything once with Minwax Provincial.  I printed off  the numbers in a stencil font to make my own stencil on plain printer paper.IMG_3427

My first attempt at painting the numbers was a instant fail.  I attempted to use a black (ebony) stain we had left over from refinishing our dining table, but that just bled through the printer paper and was a mess… see…IMG_3428

So, after wiping the ebony stain off and pondering options, I pulled out the oil rubbed bronze spray paint and got it done!  After a few days of letting everything breathe, I applied a polyurethane and let that dry another day.  And today I brought them into the bedroom.  Here’s the result.IMG_3431 IMG_3401IMG_3433

IMG_3398IMG_3436

Once more, from the very beginning to finished

sidebyside

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 24, 2012 at 5:49 am

    Thanks for leaving me a link to this project. Quite a transformation! They look really great!

  2. Shannon
    July 25, 2012 at 6:42 am

    Very impressive Rose! ! They’re gorgeous! ! Make me want to restain my kitchen table…..

  3. Writer X
    September 18, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Nice job! I love seeing IKEA hacks, this one is awesome! 🙂 Super cute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

