Home > Uncategorized > I’ve been issued a badge

I’ve been issued a badge

Tomorrow my friend Jenny and her son Jace are coming over after work for dinner, and a movie.  I’m thinking Guardians of the Galaxy, since it’s like the best movie in years.  I think it surprises me more than liking the Green Lantern  does.  Anyways, I’m cleaning the house and I decide to clean out my purse.  Here’s what I discovered I carry around after removing the garbage, change, and hair clips.

<Multiple>Chapsticks and Lipsticks

<One>Sad, old, dead, long-term temporary nokia smartphone.

<One>Shiny rock for Jace.  I’ve had this in there for at least five months.

<Multiple>Ticket stubs, wrist bands, and fancy earings from bachelorette trip to Las Vegas at the end of October.

<One>Sunglasses, but I don’t like them at ALL.

<One>Kirkland Park Board badge.  I have to wear it when I got to neighborhood meetings and when we host open houses for the public to interact regarding projects.  I was appointed after interviews by the City Council, and appreciate being a very small part of government progress.  I believe that the municipal government does so much for the people, especially parks, community service, and public works capital projects.  These two departments are the reason the quality of living is wonderful in Kirkland.  My wonderful city, government, and region make me feel like public service is a noble profession staffed by dedicated, passionate people with good intentions.

Some of the projects I have been a part of during my almost 1 year on the board are development of a park master plan for Edith Moulton Park, I’m on the committee to develop a multi-park program involving variable hour off leash dog regulations.  We have held community meetings, open houses, discussed for the majority of our monthly meetings for the entire time I have been on the board regarding where to build a pool, since the School District will not continue to serve their students and the community.  So the municipal government is going to step in, as we do, the be the safety net.  Come on LWSD.  Thankfully, we live in a community that agrees about the importance of parks, and has voted thusly.

I am passionate about parks, biased by my previous seven years.  Since getting an office job last March, I have really missed being outdoors during the day.  I miss the wind on my face, watching the clouds move across the region from Seattle to Lynnwood.  Seeing the eagles fly every day, hearing them, knowing their calls.  I miss driving around Kirkland, seeing the city from behind a windshield.  Getting off at 3. Experiencing daylight after work.  The people I miss (Kathy, Doug, Roger, Purdy, Forrest, Collins, Katy). I had a wonderful group of coworkers, who were also work-friends.  I don’t have that with this new job.  It’s starting though.

I miss working with Jenny. Just like my time employed in Luxembourg, not realizing how working together was a huge gift has been added to the list of regrets in life.  Working the last two years on the same work group was so much fun.  To work hard, and laugh nearly the entire time was such a blessing of youth.

I’m very excited for tomorrow. Now get back to work, so your house is spotless, cluterless, and inviting.

Ta-Ta

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

